Réseau européen contre la privatisation et la commercialisation de la santé et de la protection sociale
Vous êtes ici : Accueil » Pour approfondir » Partenariat transatlantique (TTIP) » Global Health Watch 5 : La santé, menacée par les accords commerciaux

Global Health Watch 5 : La santé, menacée par les accords commerciaux

D 19 octobre 2018    


agrandir

La santé, menacée par les accords commerciaux

Lire ici le chapitre complet en anglais

Les accords commerciaux ont des impacts potentiellement très néfastes sur la santé. Ils multiplient les jobs précaires, fragilisent les conditions de travail et ouvrent plus largement le secteur de la santé au marché. Voici l’analyse du Groupe de travail "Déterminants de la santé internationale" de Be-cause Health et de la Plate-forme d’action Santé et Solidarité.

Depuis l’échec du "cycle de Doha" (2004), censé lever les obstacles au commerce mondial dans une panoplie de secteurs et réduire les subventions agricoles, les négociations sur le commerce international se tiennent dans une logique qui n’est plus celle voulue par l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC). Des entités politiques et géographiques comme les États-Unis ou l’Union européenne concluent des accords de libre-échange (ALE) entre elles ou, individuellement, avec un seul pays ou des groupes de pays. Ces accords dits "bilatéraux" ou régionaux, qui complètent plus qu’ils ne remplacent les engagements multilatéraux pris depuis la création de l’OMC (1995), portent sur une diversité de secteurs qui dépasse largement les seuls produits : services, investissements, droits de propriété intellectuelle, marchés publics, etc.

Les organisations syndicales et issues de la société civile dénoncent avec fermeté la multiplication de tels accords commerciaux bilatéraux et régionaux. Ils favorisent en effet les intérêts des entreprises au détriment des politiques sociales et environnementales des États, et réécrivent les règles qui régissent l’économie mondiale. Ils s’aventurent aussi plus loin que la "simple" levée des barrières tarifaires sur les importations et les exportations, influençant considérablement les règles de production de biens et les normes de protection sociale. Les partisans des ALE ont coutume de prétendre que ceux-ci contribuent à la croissance économique et à la création d’emplois et, de là, à l’amélioration du bien-être de tous et toutes. Mais ces affirmations sont largement démenties par les faits, et cela pour plusieurs raisons.

L’État affaibli ou impuissant

La première est que les ALE entraînent systématiquement une diminution des recettes publiques par l’abolition ou la réduction des droits de douane. Résultat : les pays pauvres et/ou fragilisés ne sont plus en mesure d’investir dans les politiques sociales ni, singulièrement, dans les politiques de santé. De même, la couverture des soins de santé par l’État (lorsqu’elle existe) s’en retrouve affaiblie, réduisant l’accès de la population aux soins de santé et médicaments vendus à un prix abordable. La deuxième raison est que les clauses des ALE ouvrent très souvent les soins de santé à la concurrence, ce qui aboutit à des phénomènes comme la privatisation des infrastructures hospitalières, la montée en puissance des assurances privées, l’exode du personnel soignant vers les pays riches, le "tourisme médical", etc. Troisième raison : un déterminant de santé aussi fondamental que le style de vie est profondément perturbé par l’ouverture des marchés. Ainsi, entre 1985 et 2000, lorsque les tarifs douaniers moyens de l’Amérique Centraleont chuté de 45 à 6 %, les portes de plusieurs pays concernés se sont rapidement ouvertes à l’importation d’une alimentation transformée, beaucoup plus pauvre sur le plan nutritionnel et à l’origine de diverses pathologies : diabète, maladies cardio-vasculaires, hypertension, obésité... Celles-ci se répandent maintenant à une vitesse galopante dans les pays du Sud. Quatrième raison : les ALE contribuent énormément à la pollution de l’environnement, affectant ainsi la santé de tous et toutes.
Enfin, last but not least et malgré une relation de cause à effet moins visible, c’est par son impact sur l’emploi et les conditions de travail que le commerce libéralisé pèse lourdement sur la santé. La mondialisation du commerce contribue en effet à multiplier les jobs informels, les contrats précaires et les conditions de travail pénibles. Les effets sur la santé sont évidents.
Prenons l’exemple des travailleurs/euses dans les plantations de bananes en Équateur, premier pays exportateur de bananes au monde. La majorité d’entre eux/elles ont un contrat précaire ou temporaire, sans sécurité sociale. Ils/elles travaillent dans des conditions nocives et dangereuses : journées de 14 heures conduisant à l’épuisement physique, usage excessif de pesticides causant intoxication et différentes problèmes de santé, manque de vêtements de protection appropriés induisant des accidents du travail, etc. Tout ça pour un salaire qui souvent ne couvre même pas les besoins de base de la famille. Ceux et celles qui s’organisent dans des syndicats sont intimidé.e.s et criminalisé.e.s.
En 2016, l’Équateur a ratifié à l’accord de libre-échange de l’UE avec la Colombie et le Pérou. Les exportations vers l’Europe vont encore s’intensifir, certainement aux dépens de la santé des travailleurs/euses.

Des améliorations cosmétiques

Certes, depuis une vingtaine d’années, diverses dispositions relatives au travail inspirées par l’Organisation internationale du travail (OIT) ont été intégrées aux accords de libre-échange. L’accord de l’UE avec l’Équateur, par exemple, comprend un chapitre sur le commerce et le développement durable. Ce type de dispositions a eu quelques effets positifs ici et là, comme des inspections plus efficaces. Mais, dans la majorité des cas, ces améliorations sont simplement cosmétiques ou théoriques, soit parce qu’elles se font sans l’implication des parties prenantes (au premier rang desquelles les partenaires sociaux), soit parce qu’elles sont dépourvues de mécanismes de contrôle assurant leur pérennisation et leur généralisation. Pas de contrôle sur les normes ? Pas de sanction possible !

Au final, si la croissance de l’emploi induite par les accords de libre-échange aboutit essentiellement à renforcer les situations d’emploi précaire ou informel, la santé des travailleurs n’en sortira pas gagnante. La libéralisation des soins de santé ne devrait jamais figurer dans de tels accords ni dans toute forme d’accords commerciaux. Ces derniers ne sont souhaitables que s’ils sont assortis de clauses sociales et environnementales réellement contraignantes, soutenus par un système fort de protection sociale et surveillés par la société civile et les forces syndicales. Seul le travail décent pour tous est susceptible d’assurer la santé des travailleurs et de leurs familles.


Cet article synthétise un chapitre écrit par le Groupe de travail « Déterminants de la santé internationale » de Be-cause Health et la Plate-forme d’action Santé et Solidarité pour le Global Health Watch 5.

Le Global Health Watch est le rapport alternatif sur la santé internationale du People’s Health Movement.

Lire ici le chapitre complet en anglais


Let’s come together at the 4th People’s Health Assembly !

The fourth People’s Health Assembly (PHA) is taking place from 15 to 19 November 2018 in Dhaka, Bangladesh, organized by the People’s Health Movement, allie of the European Network against the commercilization and privatization of Health and Social Protection.

More info on the PHMovement

PHA is held approximately every five years, which draws in civil society organizations and networks, social movements, academia and other stakeholders from around the globe. The PHA provides a unique space for sharing experiences, mutual learning and joint strategizing for future actions. The first PHA was held in Savar, Bangladesh in December 2000 and was attended by more than 1453 people from 75 countries ; the People’s Charter for Health was developed and endorsed at PHA1. The second Assembly was held in Cuenca, Ecuador in July 2005 and attended by 1492 people from 92 countries. The third Assembly was held in Cape Town (South Africa) 6-11 2012 and attended by about 1000 people from over 90 countries.

Registration

Rechercher

décembre 2018 :

Rien pour ce mois

novembre 2018 | janvier 2019

European Network against privatization and commercialization of Health and Social protection
You are here : Home » To deepen » Transatlantic Partnership (TTIP) » Global Health Watch 5: Health threatened by trade agreements

Global Health Watch 5: Health threatened by trade agreements

D 19 October 2018    


agrandir

Health threatened by trade agreements

Read the full chapter

Trade agreements can have harmful effects on health. They create more precarious jobs, undermine working conditions and open up healthcare more widely to the market. This is the analysis of the Working Group « International Determinants of Health » of Be-cause Health and the Platform for Action on Health and Solidarity.

Since the failure of the "Doha Round" (2004), designed to remove barriers to world trade in a number of sectors and to reduce agricultural subsidies, negotiations on international trade have followed a different logic from that considered by the World Trade Organisation (WTO). Political and geographical entities such as the US or the EU conclude Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) with each other or, separately, with individual countries or groups of countries. These so-called "bilateral" or regional agreements, which complement rather than replace multilateral obligations since the creation of the WTO (1995), cover a number of sectors that go far beyond products alone: services, investment, intellectual property rights, public procurement, etc.

Trade unions and civil society organisations strongly oppose the emergence of such bilateral and regional trade agreements. They promote business interests at the expense of the social and environmental policies of the states and rewrite the rules of the world economy. They also sometimes go beyond the "mere" removal of tariff barriers to imports and exports and have a significant impact on regulations on the production of goods and social protection. The proponents of the FTA generally claim that they contribute to economic growth and job creation, thereby improving the welfare of all. This is largely rebutted by the facts, for various reasons.

The state is weakened or made powerless

The first reason is that free trade agreements systematically result in lower government revenues through the abolition or reduction of customs duties. The result: poor and/or vulnerable countries are no longer able to invest in social or health policies. The coverage of health care by the state (if any) is also weakened, limiting access to health care and affordable medicines. The second reason is that the clauses of free trade agreements very often open up health care to competition, leading to phenomena such as the privatisation of hospitals, the growing power of private insurance, an exodus of health workers to rich countries, "medical tourism", etc. Thirdly, the way of life, a fundamental determinant of health, is seriously disrupted by the opening up of markets. Thus, between 1985 and 2000, when the average customs tariffs in Central America fell from 45% to 6%, the doors of several countries were quickly opened to the import of other foodstuffs that were less nutritious and were at the root of various pathologies: diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, hypertension, obesity, etc. These are now spreading at a rapid pace in countries in the global south. Fourthly, free trade agreements contribute enormously to environmental pollution and thus have a negative impact on everyone’s health.

Although the causal link is less visible, the impact of liberalized trade on employment and working conditions weighs heavily on health. The globalization of trade contributes to the increase in informal jobs, precarious contracts and poor working conditions. The effects on health are obvious.
Take the example of banana plantation workers in Ecuador, the world’s largest exporter of bananas. Most of them work under precarious or temporary contracts, without social security. They work under unhealthy and dangerous conditions: 14-hour working days lead to physical exhaustion, excessive use of pesticides leads to poisoning and various health problems, the lack of the right to protective clothing results in accidents at work, etc. All of this for a working day of 14 hours. All this for a salary that often does not even meet the basic needs of the family. Workers who organize themselves into trade unions are intimidated and criminalised.

In 2016 Ecuador signed a free trade agreement with the EU, Colombia and Peru. Exports to Europe will be even more intensive, which will certainly be at the expense of workers’ health.

Cosmetic adjustments

Indeed, over the last twenty years, several labour-related provisions inspired by the International Labour Organisation (ILO) have been incorporated into free trade agreements. For example, the EU-Ecuador Convention contains a chapter on trade and sustainable development. Such provisions have had some positive effects, such as more efficient inspections. But in most cases they are merely cosmetic or theoretical adjustments, because they have been drafted without the involvement of stakeholders (primarily the social partners) or because there are no control mechanisms for consolidation and generalization. No control of standards? No sanction possible!

If the growth in employment resulting from free trade agreements results in the maintenance of precarious or informal employment situations, this will not benefit the health of workers. The liberalization of health care must never be included in such agreements or in any form of trade agreement. The latter are only desirable if they are accompanied by genuinely binding social and environmental clauses supported by a strong social protection system and controlled by civil society and trade unions. Only decent work for all can safeguard the health of workers and their families.


This article is a summary of a chapter written by the working group "Determinants of International Health" of Be-cause Health and the Belgian Platform for Action on Health and Solidarity (website in Nl & Fr) in the "Global Health Watch 5 (GHW5)".

GHW5 is the alternative report on international health of the People’s Health Movement.

Read the full chapter


Let’s come together at the 4th People’s Health Assembly !

The fourth People’s Health Assembly (PHA) taking place 15-19 November 2018 in Dhaka, Bangladesh organized by the People’s Health Movement, ally of the European Network against the commercialization and privatization of Health and Social Protection.

More info on the PHMovement

PHA is held approximately every five years, which draws in civil society organizations and networks, social movements, academia and other stakeholders from around the globe. The PHA provides a unique space for sharing experiences, mutual learning and joint strategizing for future actions. The first PHA was held in Savar, Bangladesh in December 2000 and was attended by more than 1453 people from 75 countries; the People’s Charter for Health was developed and endorsed at PHA1. The second Assembly was held in Cuenca, Ecuador in July 2005 and attended by 1492 people from 92 countries. The third Assembly was held in Cape Town (South Africa) 6-11 2012 and attended by about 1000 people from over 90 countries.

Registration

Search

November 2018 :

Nothing for this month

October 2018 | December 2018